Abruzzo crafts: the festival of ancient trades in Pescocostanzo
The history of the village of Pescocostanzo runs side by side with the history of Abruzzo handicrafts. In the heart of the Majella National Park, in the province of L’Aquila, Pescocostanzo offers emotions linked to nostalgia for times gone by and wonder. Even today, in this magnificent village, craftsmen work with filigree, wrought iron and bobbin lace. So much so that between the first and second weeks of September there is the “Festa degli antichi mestieri” (Festival of Ancient Crafts), in which the trades, now the patrimony of few, come back to revive Pescocostanzo. There are many lost trades, such as water vendor, lacemaker, shoemaker, herbalist, shepherd, basket maker...as well as folk dances, food and wine tastings and a procession of participants in traditional dress, recalling the visit of Marchesa Vittoria Colonna to the village in 1535.
Let’s discover the craftsmanship of Pescocostanzo together:
Palazzo Fanzago, in the Piazza del Municipio, houses the Museum of Tombolo Lace, a centuries-old tradition in Pescocostanzo. It is said that Lombard artisans were called upon to create the architecture of the village in the 15th century: in all likelihood they brought their families with them, who taught the local women the art of bobbin lace. Even today, girls in Pescocostanzo are taught this ancient art.
The first reference to goldsmithing in Pescocostanzo dates back to 1748. This traditional Abruzzo craftsmanship can also be admired in the villages of Sulmona, Guardiagrele and Scanno. The most typical filigree work includes brooches, earrings and pendants. The most traditional filigree pendant is the presentosa: a gold filigree pendant in the shape of a star, with two hearts in the centre, a symbol of fidelity and eternal love.
Railings, chandeliers, gates... all strictly in wrought iron. In Pescocostanzo, the art of wrought ironwork has ancient origins, dating back to the times of the Italic peoples. An example of this is the construction of the iron gate that closes the Cappella Collegiata. Santo di Rocco is believed to have been responsible for this construction, which was carried out between 1699 and 1705 and completed by his grandson in 1717. Angelic and monstrous figures, arabesques of leaves, putti, surmount the fence and testify to the mastery of metalwork.
Would you like to visit Pescocostanzo?
It is located just 3 km from the Cipriani Park Hotel. We can advise you on the best tour to explore Pescocostanzo. There is the cultural tour with a guide, the guided tour of the craft shops, the tour with wine tasting and the tour of the basilica. Ask us for more information at Reception.